Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
CRT IRL 2010
Rally of the Lakes
RALLY NEWS No.10 - Castletownbearahaven - Sunday @ 13:38:24

RALLY NEWS NO.10 Castletownbearhaven/Sunday

1st (6) Daragh O'Riordan/Tony McDaid (Impreza WRC)
2nd (1) Denis Cronin/Coleman Hurley (Impreza WRC)
3rd (23) Thomas Fitzmaurice/Fionn Foley (Lancer N)
4th (12) Jer O'Donovan/Sean Hayde (Impreza N)
5th (28) Mark Sheahan/Mark Kane (Citroen C2R2)
6th (20) Eoin Doyle/Peter Brennan (Impreza WRC)
1st (26) Geoffrey Dolan/Conor Murphy (Sunbeam)
2nd (16) Charlie Hickey/Johnny Hickey (Escort)
3rd (34) John Riordan/Donal Falvey (Escort)
4th (46) Graeme Colfer/Alan Dolan (Citroen C2R2)
5th (17) Eugene Ferry/Derek Heena (Escort) (provisional)

The Cod’s Head/Ardgroom/Healy Pass loop of stages is one of the toughest, but one of the best in Irish rallying. Daragh O’Riordan continued to set fastest times but Denis Cronin was quite close to his performance. Daragh was on used tyres for the loop and said when he came into Castletownbearhaven service. “I’m trying to find a steady pace with no mistakes. I’m enjoying it”. Denis Cronin commented. “That was a lovely run. We were pushing hard but Daragh is going well. That’s as close as I can get in this car to Daragh’s S12 times”. Third placed Thomas Fitzmaurice was in the wars over the last few stages. His Lancer sustained a broken rear differential/drive shaft and he was dropping 2m a stage. However, such was his advantage over 4th place that he didn’t lose a place. The problem should be rectified at service for the final 3 stages.

Those not so lucky included Kevin O’Donoghue and David Guest and Jason McSweeney. All 3 drivers broke down in Ardgroom, their respective cars having suffered half shaft failure. This is probably a symptom of today’s warm dry conditions and the amount of grip generated by the latest tyres. Geoffrey Dolan now leads the National section despite his Sunbeam having a broken alternator and the Donegal man is carrying a battery pack behind his seat to keep the electrics alive. Charlie Hickey in 2nd place has a problem with his Escort differential leaking oil, this should be sorted at service. 3rd placed John Riordan only does one rally a year, this one, and his co driver Donal Falvey is now pulling the reins back in an effort to get the car to the finish. Graham Colfer is 4th in the National and is also registered for the Citroen Racing Trophy points and is well placed on stage times. Joe McGonigle in his Citroen would appear to be fastest of the Sunday runners so far.

Kieran Marshall was unable to fix the gear selector on his Civic at last service and has managed to jam the car in one gear. He is not sure whether it is 4th or 5th. He has now completed this loop and is still 12th o/a but has slipped to 2nd in class 1 behind Ian Hynes. Joe Shrimpton lost some time in stage 12 when his C2R2 brake caliper locked up. He is still 7th in the International.
HISTORIC RALLY: Following the Ardgroom stage Denis Hickey/Pat Cashman in their Escort lead by almost 3m from Alan Courtney/Paul Soutar in their Porsche 928. Tim Lenihan is 3rd in his Mk1 Escort. Phillip McKibbin retired his Cortina on Molls Gap this morning when an HT lead failed. JUNIORS: Gary Dineen in his Escort led from Tony Kelly (Civic) after their 1st stage, Cods Head.
More news later: BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *For SMS results text RALLY ITC to 53030 (Irl) or RALLY ITC to 60066 (UK). Cost 30c/25p. Text STOP to switch off. Provided by stagetimes.com
Great Stuff
Patterson Pacenotes

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd