Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
CRT IRL 2010
Rally of the Lakes
RALLY NEWS No.11 - Finish - Sunday @ 17:12:38
RALLY NEWS NO.11 Killarney/Finish/Sunday

1st (6) Daragh O'Riordan/Tony McDaid (Impreza WRC)
2nd (1) Denis Cronin/Coleman Hurley (Impreza WRC)
3rd (20) Eoin Doyle/Peter Brennan (Impreza WRC)
4th (28) Mark Sheahan/Mark Kane (Citroen C2R2)
5th (12) Jer O'Donovan/Sean Hayde (Impreza N)
6th (45) Joe Shrimpton/Ciaran Geaney (Citroen C2R2)
7th (31) Scott McElhinney/Karl Reid (Citroen C2R2)
8th (53) Colm McFall/Chris Crowe (Lancer N)
9th (82) Samantha Thom/Johnny Baird (Citroen C2R2)
10th (23) Thomas Fitzmaurice/Fion Foley (Lancer N)
1st (26) Geoffrey Dolan/Conor Murphy (Sunbeam)
2nd (17) Eugene Ferry/Derek Heena (Escort)
3rd (34) John Riordan/Donal Falvey (Escort)
4th (46) Graeme Colfer/Alan Dolan (Citroen C"R")
5th (16) Charlie Hickey/Johnny Hickey (Escort)
6th (39) Ken Lyons/Paddy McDonnell (Escort)

For young Midleton driver Daragh O’Riordan and his co driver Tony McDaid this is a real red-letter day to score their first International Rally win. To do it on this Cartell.ie backed Killarney Rally of the Lakes makes it extra special. Their Subaru has clocked up fastest times since stage 2 and has been unchallenged since Tim McNulty retired his Impreza on stage 3. For Denis Cronin/Coleman Hurley 2nd place was quite an achievement, their older model Subaru simply not having the pace of the newer cars over the dry roads this weekend. Last year’s winner Denis drove a very accomplished rally. Eoin Doyle was a surprise coming into 3rd as other crews hit trouble over today’s tough stages. Fourth placed Mark Sheahan drove a brilliant rally to take maximum Citroen Racing Trophy points. Such was Mark’s advantage starting Day 2 that he was able to pace himself and conserve the car all through today’s tough stages.

Jer O’Donovan is best Class 4 in his Group N Impreza despite a few fraught moments today on Healy Pass when he spun the car. Joe Shrimpton rounds off the top 6 and takes 3rd place in the Citroen Racing Trophy points. Second place in the Citroens goes to Graeme Colfer who was running in the National Rally. Despite some alternator troubles Geoffrey Dolan came through strongly the win the National Rally in his Sunbeam. John Riordan was 3rd in his Escort and has won class 11. Charlie Hickey was 4th having led the National rally in his Escort but dropped 3m in the final stage past Kilmacilloge Harbour. Other drivers to encounter problems towards the end included Thomas Fitzmaurice who was 3rd o/a until his lancer had a transmission breakage on the Ardgroom stage. Martin Donnelly from New York was moving into the top 10 in the International until his Lancer incurred a puncture on Molls Gap and then retired later with further problems. Killarney man Kieran Marshall was leading class 1 and was 11th o/a until his Civic snapped a gear selector shaft. He was able to jam the car in 4th gear and keep going for quite a few stages but now seems to have retired. This has to be confirmed.

Denis Hickey & Pat Cashman have won the Historic Rally in their Escort by over 4m from Alan Courtney/Paul Soutar in their Porsche 928. Tim Linehan/Kieran Crowley were 3rd in their Mk1 Escort. Joe McGonigle/Niall Burns have won the special Sunday Run in their Citroen from Mike Nelligan/John Hurley (Corolla). In the Junior Rally with 1 stage still to go Gary Dineen/Gemma Kissane in their Escort had a substantial lead over Simon Duggan/Wm. Lynch in their Civic. Vincent McSweeney/Michael Kearney were 3rd in another Civic and interestingly Keith Cronin’s young brother Daniel who has just started rallying was 4th in a Peugeot 206 with Sean Duggan co-driving.

Finally for now we would like to thank everyone who helped with and supported our RallyNews service. Well done to CoC Dermot Healy and all his hard working and enthusiastic Killarney MC team for their superb efforts on this major rally. Our thanks also to Noreen Marshall: Dougie Hughes: Daphne Millar & Mossie O’Connell. BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net
Great Stuff
Patterson Pacenotes

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd