Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
O'Leary Electrical
Transmission Links Ireland
Patterson Pacenotes
Circuit of Kerry
RALLY NEWS No.6 - Finish - Sunday @ 17:29:28
RALLY NEWS NO.6 Tralee/Finish/Sunday

1st (114) Darren Gass/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC) 54.51
2nd (1) Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally (Impreza WRC) 54.55
3rd (2) Niall Maguire/Barry Goodman (Impreza WRC) 55.09
4th (8) Eamonn Daly/Brian Doherty (Lancer N) 57.30
5th (3) Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy (Lancer N) 57.33
6th (5) Mike Quinn/Grainne McEnery (Escort) 57.43
7th (6) Ed O'Callaghan/Ger Clancy (Escort) 57.56
8th (15) Richard & John Burke (Impreza) 58.54
9th (18) Tommy Mason/Podge Doody (Escort) 59.15
10th (119) Frank Kelly/Stephen Quinn (Escort) 59.56

It was certainly a grandstand finish to this Circuit of Kerry Rally. Leaving service after stage 6 Darren Gass led by 9s from Kevin Barrett. However in stage 7 Darren’s Subaru developed a fuel problem and he dropped over 20s. This left Kevin Barrett leading, Gass and Maguire tied for 2nd. In stage 8, Bothar Na Cgloch, Gass turned in a fabulous time to move into the lead, which he held through the final stage. Back here at the Carlton Hotel in Tralee as the champagne flowed 23 year old Darren Gass commented. “The rally was great craic, the organisation was dead on and the stages were good.” Darren, who has won the Mourne Rally and Lurgan Park in the past went on to say that this result should sharpen him up for the Circuit of Ireland in a few weeks time. Kevin Barrett said. “The rally was at a good pace. Darren’s time on that penultimate stage was fantastic.” Kevin went on to say “Not too disappointed to finish 2nd. That’s the way it goes”. Third placed Niall Maguire said. “We had a good run at the end and enjoyed it”.

Eamonn Daly has won group N from Alan Ring by the slender margin of 2s. Ring felt that his car was a bit hesitant through the day but said he drove hard. Mike Quinn has taken the Modified category from Ed O’Callaghan. This is provisional as O’Callaghan is querying a time from earlier today. Ed did lose time on the final stage when his Escort suffered engine damage. A late retirement was Vincent O’Shea whose Escort was parked up on the penultimate stage after holding 8th o/a.

Finally for now our sincere thanks to all the people who assisted and supported our Rally News service. Your efforts are very much appreciated. Congratulations to CoC Senan Raggett and his supremely efficient and friendly Kerry MC team who have put so much time and energy into running a superb event. Our thanks also to Dougie Hughes: Daphne Millar and Mossie O’Connell. BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd