Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Ace Signs cork 20
Patterson Pacenotes
Cork 20 Rally
RALLY NEWS No.11 - Finish - Sunday @ 15:30:22

RALLY NEWS NO.11 Fermoy Service/Sunday

1st (5) Josh Moffett/Jason McKenna (Fiesta R5)
2nd (4) Sam Moffett/Karl Atkinson (Fiesta R6)
3rd (3) Roy White/James O’Brien (Fiesta WRC)
4th (2) Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin (Citroen DS3R5)
5th (6) Jonny Greer/Kirsty Riddick (Citroen DS3R5)
6th (7) Stephen Wright/Arthur Kierans (Fiesta R5)
7th (85) Kevin Kelleher/Ray Fitzpatrick (Subaru Impreza)
8th (9) Brendan Cumiskey/Ronan O’Kane (Fiesta R5)
9th (32) Joe Connolly/Richard Connolly (Fiesta R5)
10th (23) Callum Devine/Keith Moriarty (Opel Adam)

1st (86) Brian Brogan/Damien McGettigan (Escort Mk2)
2nd (81) Tommy Doyle/Liam Moynihan (Clio)
3rd (79) Callum Duffy/Emmet Sherry (Fabia S2500)
4th (78) Martin Doherty/Raymond Scott (Escort Mk2)

In one of the tightest rally finishes seen for years, just over 9s separating the top 4, Josh Moffett/Jason McKenna have won this Acesigns Cork 20 Rally. This is Josh’s first International Rally win. Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin in their Citroen DS3R5 have done enough to clinch the Clonakilty Blackpudding Championship. Sam Moffett was fastest on the last stage to squeeze Roy White down to the 3rd step of the podium.

For 3 times former British Rally Champion Keith Cronin this Tarmac Championship win has been very hard earned indeed. He has had some bad days on the events during this year but has driven brilliantly as well. This Tarmac Championship title is well deserved. Josh Moffett turned in some very fast times today even when everyone else was flat out as well, and then for his brother Sam to make it a Moffett family 1-2 is pretty special as well. When rally winner Josh Moffett brought his Fiesta R5 into the service area he said. ‘It is unbelievable. We started slow and built up the pace during the rally. My co driver Jason has done a fantastic job’.

New Tarmac Rally Champion Keith Cronin unwound himself from inside his Citroen and he commented. ‘I made it tough for myself this afternoon. I tried to avoid every cut and pothole but got the puncture. But it worked out well in the end. The David Greer team did an unbelievable job for us.’

Last minute drams include Pauric Duffy relinquishing 9th place in the rally when he put his Fiesta R5 in a ditch and it suffered a broken steering arm. This was Pauric’s first non finish from 22 starts in this car. This brought Joe Connolly into 9th and Callum Devine 10th. Marty Gallagher was ahead of Devine but has lost quite a lot of time.

Finally for now many thanks to all who helped and supported our RallyNews service. Well done to Clerk of the Course Colman Hegarty, Kevin O’Riordan and all the Munster Car Club team who put this splendid rally together. Thanks also to Kevin O’Driscoll for his help.

More news later: BRIAN & LIZ & MICHAEL & ZOE PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *Follow RallyNews on Twitter & Facebook @Pacenotes or @Real_RallyNews

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd