Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Ace Signs cork 20
Patterson Pacenotes
Cork 20 Rally
RALLY NEWS No.5 - Fermoy Service - Saturday @ 14:53:23

RALLY NEWS NO.5 Fermoy/Service/Saturday

1st (2) Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin (Citroen DS3R5) 36.25.1
2nd (4) Sam Moffett/Karl Atkinson (Fiesta R6) 36.38.9
3rd (3) Roy White/James O’Brien (Fiesta WRC) 36.40.3
4th (5) Josh Moffett/Jason McKenna (Fiesta R5) 36.45.0
5th (6) Jonny Greer/Kirsty Riddick (Citroen DS3R5) 36.53.6
6th (85) Kevin Kelleher/Ray Fitzpatrick (Subaru Impreza) 37.35.0
7th (7) Stephen Wright/Arthur Kierans (Fiesta R5) 37.37.4
8th (9) Brendan Cumiskey/Ronan O’Kane (Fiesta R5) 38.08.0
9th (28) Pauric Duffy/Patrick Brides (Fiesta R5) 38.34.0
10th (23) Callum Devine/Keith Moriarty (Opel Adam) 40.24.8

Following Alastair Fisher’s retirement in stage 4 it looked as if Keith Cronin’s lead going into stage 5 was fairly secure. Not so. Sam Moffett has produced a screaming time through that 18km 5th stage, 11s faster than Cronin and 9s faster than Roy White. Keith said at stage finish that he had had a good enough run and he had no problems, but he would be interested to see Roy White’s time. All of a sudden though, it is Sam Moffett who is the danger man in terms of winning the rally. Roy White in his Fiesta WRC fluffed his start procedure once again.

Sam Moffett said at the end of the stage that he had changed to a ‘medium’ tyre and pushed hard. His Fiesta R5 had clipped a bale at one point but it was no big deal. Josh Moffett reported a big moment over a crossroads at a school when his Fiesta R5 landed on its nose. Josh got away with it, but at the same crossroads David Guest did not. Clonakilty man David, who has already won the group N section of the Tarmac C/ship, crashed his ex Owen Murphy Lancer into a wall and the car then rolled up the road. Thankfully David and co driver Paddy Robinson are both OK but the stage had to be stopped temporarily while the wreckage was cleared. Jonny Greer also had a moment at that crossroads. Stephen Wright’s Fiesta incurred a puncture and he was running late to stage 6.

In the National Rally Eugene Meegan still leads from Brian Brogan. Tommy Doyle is now 3rd. Callum Duffy is 4th. Phil Collins is 5th and Colin Byrne 6th.

In the Historic Rally Ray Cunningham, driving Frank’s Escort, still leads with James O’Mahony 2nd. Duncan Williams is 3rd.

Latest news – Josh Moffett and Roy White equal fastest through stage 6. Keith Cronin still leads.

More news later: BRIAN & LIZ & MICHAEL & ZOE PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *Follow RallyNews on Twitter & Facebook @Pacenotes or @Real_RallyNews

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd