Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
COI 2016 Logo
The Tannery
Patterson Pacenotes
Circuit of Ireland
RALLY NEWS No.9 - Kings Hall Belfast - Saturday @ 17:43:31

RALLY NEWS NO.9 Kings Hall Belfast/Saturday


1st (1) Craig Breen/Scott Martin (Citroen DS3R5)
2nd (3) Kajetan Kajetanowicz/Jaroslaw Baran (Fiesta R5)
3rd (6) Alastair Fisher/Gordon Noble (Fiesta R5)
4th (39) Josh Moffett/John Rowan (Fiesta R5)
5th (15) Jonny Greer/Kirsty Riddick (Citroen DS3R5)
6th (10) David Bogie/Kevin Rae (Fabia R5)
7th (7) Tom Cave/James Morgan (Fiesta R5)
8th (43) Stephen Wright/James Fulton (Fiesta R5)
9th (17) Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Fabia S2000)
10th (22) Jaraslaw Koltun//I. Pleskot (Fiesta R5)

There was quite a crowd at the end of the final stage just outside Banbridge to cheer home winner Craig Breen, second placed Kajetan Kajetanowicz and 3rd placed Alastair Fisher. It was nip and tuck over the last few stages and Craig Breen had to pull out all the stops to take victory by just over 10s from Polish driver KK as he is known. Craig admitted that he had to dig deep as he felt the rally slipping away this morning, caught out as he was on the wrong tyres. Even on stage 12, Hamilton’s Folly, Craig’s victory was under pressure as his Fiesta clipped a rock during a hailstorm. He said at the end about just how delighted he was to win this Circuit of Ireland for the 2nd year in a row as it is such a special event for him. Polish driver Kajetanowicz said at the finish. ‘We tried to win but it was impossible. But it goes to plan, like last year, he won the rally, we won the championship. Congratulations to Craig’

Alastair Fisher was delighted with his 3rd place and he said. ‘It was a long tough event and I am happy to be here at the finish. Gordy has been great on the notes and it was a great rally for the country’ Josh Moffett/John Rowan had some heart stopping moments towards the end when their Fiesta R5 had brake problems, but they kept it together to take 4th o/a. In Championship terms Kajetanowicz moves into the lead of the European C/ship. Elfyn Evans still leads the BRC despite retiring twice from this event. Yesterday his Fiesta had a pulley wheel problem and today after setting some fastest times the car clipped a wall on Hamilton’s Folly in a hai storm and damaged the cooling system. Evans played a ‘joker’ card on the first BRC round in Wales that earned him double points. Josh Moffett takes maximum BRC points today that moves him into a strong position. Josh moves into the lead of the Clonakilty Blackpudding Tarmac C/ship with 36pts. Keith Cronin has 32 and Alastair Fisher, with his maximum Tarmac score today, is on 30pts. Another final stage drama was Jaromir Tarabus starting the last stage in 5th place but not making the finish, his Skoda reportedly parked in a hedge.

With 3 stages remaining Derek McGarrity in his Fiesta WRC was on course to take victory on the National Rally. This will mean Derek moving into the lead of the McGrady Insurance NI C/ship. Second in the National today was Ollie Mellors in his Proton with Wesley Patterson 3rd in his Escort. Clive Kilpatrick in his Lancer still led GpN & 9th.

Finally for now we would like to thank all the organisers on this very significant event for all their kindness and co-operation throughout. Our thanks also to the many companies and people who supported our RallyNews service. BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON + MICHAEL & ZOE PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *Follow RallyNews on Twitter & Facebook @Pacenotes or @Real_RallyNews

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd