Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Ulster Rally 2015
Fal Hire 2015
NI Champ 2014
Ulster Rally 2015
RALLY NEWS No.10 - St Angelo - Saturday @ 16:53:30

RALLY NEWS NO.10 St. Angelo/Service/Saturday

1st (2) Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Focus WRC)
2nd (9) Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan (Skoda S2000)
3rd (7) Derek McGeehan/Arthur Kierans (Mini WRC)
4th (10) Jonny Greer/Kirsty Riddick (Citroen DS3 R5)
5th (3) Derek McGarrity/Diarmuid Falvey (Impreza WRC)
6th (18) Jon Armstrong/Noel O`Sullivan (Peugeot 208 R2)
7th (19) Rob Duggan/Ger Conway (Peugeot 208 R2)
8th (15) Daniel McKenna/Gordon Noble (Toyota GT86)
9th (20) Callum Devine/Keith Moriarty (Opel Adam R2)
10th (14) Camillus Bradley/Crawford Henderson (Escort Mk2)

The final stage of this Todds Leap Ulster Rally produced an unfortunate drama when the Garry Jennings/Rory Kennedy Subaru Impreza burst into flames almost within sight of the finish line. Garry and Rory were leading the rally starting that Widow Magee stage and appeared to be on course for a hat trick of Ulster wins. It was not to be. It is reported that the engine of the Subaru blew, and that is what caused the fire. The most important thing is that both Garry and Rory are both OK. In fact we have spoken very briefly to Garry and he is very upset, more about not winning the rally than about the car, but the vital thing is that neither Garry nor Rory were hurt in any way. The emergency services were called to the scene to assist. This meant that the stage was stopped. Donagh Kelly`s Focus and Desi Henry in his Skoda got through the stage unhindered. The remaining cars will almost certainly get a `notional` time for the stage and for the moment the above leaderboard is unofficial.

For Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan this was a bittersweet moment. It is fantastic of course that Donagh and Kevin have won this Ulster Rally, as well as clinching the Clonakilty Blackpudding Tarmac Championship title. However, there is no way that Donegal man Donagh would have wanted to win the rally at Garry Jennings` expense. Second place would have been enough to take the title. It has been a marvellous season for Donagh winning both the Tarmac and the National titles in the same year.

Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan drove a superb rally to bring their Skoda Fabia into 2nd place 33s ahead of Derek McGeehan in his Mini WRC. Derek wins the National B Rally and takes maximum McGrady Insurance NI Rally C/ship points. Derek McGarrity steadied the ship towards the end and came into 5th o/a and should take enough NI C/Ship points to reinforce his lead.

Jon Armstrong drove a brilliant rally to score maximum points in his class and in the Rally to Wales category. Rob Duggan was 2nd. A dubious tyre choice in the unexpected wet conditions this morning meant that Killarney man Rob lost out. He still drove extremely well. Raymond Johnston co driven by David Johnston finished best of the Historics in his Escort. Brendan Cumiskey/Ronan O`Kane in their Subaru won Group N that means the GpN category of the Tarmac C/ship will go down to the wire in Cork. Ross Hunter has moved into the lead of the National Tarmac series with his 2l Peugeot. Gareth Lloyd continues to lead the Historics in the Tarmac.

Finally for now well done to Clerk of the Course Gary Milligan and his hard working team for putting on such an efficiently organised event. The rally ran on schedule throughout with no major hitches. Our thanks to all who helped and supported our RallyNews service this weekend. Thanks also to the Killyhevlin Hotel for looking after us so well.

BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON & MICHAEL & ZOE PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *Follow RallyNews on Twitter/Facebook @Pacenotes or @Real_RallyNews

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd