Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Lurgan Park
Patterson Pacenotes
Lurgan Park Rally
RALLY NEWS No.6 - Lurgan Park - Saturday @ 17:14:06
RALLY NEWS NO.6 Lurgan Park/Paddock/Saturday

1st (1) Garry Jennings/Michael Moran (Impreza WRC) 15.42.5
2nd (4) Kenny McKinstry/Michael Gilmore (Impreza WRC) 15.49.3
3rd (3) Derek McGeehan/Laurie Smyth (Mini WRC) 15.53.2
4th (2) Derek McGarrity/Alan Beattie (Impreza WRC) 16.07.5
5th (7) Stuart Biggerstaff/Stephen Jess (Impreza WRC) 16.15.5
6th (12) Jonny & Geraldine Leonard (Lancer) 16.37.1
7th (10) Pat O`Connell/Mark Wiley (Lancer) 16.43.2
8th (41) Wesley Patterson/Johnny Baird (Escort) 16.47.5
9th (9) Ray Brammer/Mo Downey (Impreza WRC) 16.47.6
10th (11) Denis Biggerstaff/Adam Carson (Metro 6R4) 16.57.9

It was a fabulously close and exciting rally today and Garry Jennings, co driven by Michael Moran, in his Subaru Impreza WRC, had to pull out all the stops to take victory. This was Garry`s third win in a row here in Lurgan Park, and the Fermanagh man said at the end of the last stage. `The boys made me work for it today. I was caught slightly on the wrong tyres this morning but it was a great day`s rallying and a brilliant day for the family as well`. Derek McGarrity was one of the pre-start favourites and finished 4th. Derek commented at the finish. `You cannot afford to make mistakes on these Lurgan Park stages and I made three`. Kenny McKinstry came through very strongly towards the end to finish runner up. Kenny was co-driven by Michael Gilmore and is still more than anxious to round his number of victories here in Lurgan Park up to 12, but it wasn`t to be this weekend. He set a couple of fastest times towards the end and when asked if it was tyre choice that made the difference, he said. `No, it was more about how much risk you wanted to take in this morning`s slippy conditions`.

Derek McGeehan led the rally through the first 3 stages and was a wee bit down hearted at the finish when he told us. `Third again, but it was good to have led. Very exciting rally`. Stuart Biggerstaff had a brilliant run to 5th place and he said. `It would be good to gather up a few more pence and do a few more rallies`. Jonny Leonard drove brilliantly through the final stage to just get ahead of Pat O`Connell in the race for class 5 honours. Wesley Patterson was 8th and won the hotly contested Mk2 Escort category. Paul Barrett/Declan Tumilty won Group N in their Impreza. Alan Smyth/Richard Kinloch won cl.2 in their Citron C2R2. A late retirement was Raymond Johnston whose Escort stopped on SS7 when a fuel pipe came adrift. This allowed Stephen Mawhinney to take the Historic category. Adrian Hetherington`s Escort did not finish the last stage due to engine troubles.

Finally for now, many thanks to everyone who supported our RallyNews service. Thanks also to the North Armagh MC team and well done to all of them for organising such a good day`s motorsport here in the lovely Lurgan Park. Special thanks to Nina for distributing the RallyNews and thanks to Paddy for the results service.

BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON & MICHAEL & ZOE PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *Follow RallyNews on Twitter/Facebook @Pacenotes or @Real_RallyNews

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd