Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Patterson Pacenotes
results portal
West Cork Rally
RALLY NEWS No.8 - Clonakilty - Sunday @ 16:42:07

RALLY NEWS NO.8 Clonakilty/Finish/Sunday

1st (1) Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Focus WRC)
2nd (4) Sam Moffett/Karl Atkinson (Fiesta WRC)
3rd (9) Stephen Wright/Mikey Galvin (Fiesta R5)
4th (8) Jonny Greer/Kirsty Riddick (Citroen DS3R5)
5th (3) Daragh O`Riordan/Tony McDaid (Fiesta WRC)
6th (10) Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore (Starlet rwd)
7th (26) Gary Kiernan/James Fulton (Escort)
8th (21) Brian Brogan/Mac Walsh (Escort)
9th (14) Wesley Patterson/Johnny Baird (Escort)
10th (40) Vincent McSweeney/Michael Kearney (Civic)

Donagh Kelly and his co driver Kevin Flanagan in their Focus WRC scored a start to finish very impressive win on this 2015 West Cork Rally. Donagh and Kevin won this event last year as well and if anything this year`s win is even more impressive. Sam Moffett/Karl Atkinson in their Fiesta WRC harried Donagh Kelly all the way rarely more than a couple of seconds away on any one stage, but at the end of the 2 days hard rallying they were 1m9s behind the flying Focus. Stephen Wright had a very impressive run in his recently acquired Fiesta R6 and co-driven by Mikie Galvin fully deserved 3rd place. Jonny Greer/Kirsty Riddick were 4th o/a and 2nd in the R5 class with their Citroen. Daragh O`Riordan/Tony McDaid dropped to 6th on stage 11 when their Fiesta WRC sustained a puncture. Daragh drove hard through the last few stages, and indeed was fastest on the final stage to move up to 5th o/a. Josh Moffett was 53rd starting today following yesterday`s ignition problems with his Fiesta and finished today in 18th o/a.

Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore rounded off the top half dozen in their Starlet and won the Modified category. John Bonner & Leon Jordan seemed to be heading for 2nd in the Modified section but no time has come through for their Escort on the final stage. This allows Gary Kiernan/James Fulton into 2nd Modified position.

Donagh Kelly`s win today increases his lead in the Clonakilty Blackpudding Tarmac Championship. Donagh now has 32 points, Sam Moffett 26 and Jonny Greer is up to 3rd on 16.

Aaron MacHale in his Lancer has won GpN today from Brendan Cumiskey (Impreza N). In the Historic Rally Denis Moynihan in his Mk1 Escort is on course for victory with Ernie Graham 2nd and Gareth Lloyd 3rd. (This is of course provisional).

Finally for now very well done to Greg McCarthy and all his hard working Cork MC team, as well as volunteers from many parts of the country in organising such a great rally this weekend. Our thanks to all who supported our RallyNews service. Thanks also to Kevin O`Driscoll & Dougie Hughes.
BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *Follow RallyNews on Twitter & Facebook @Pacenotes or @Real_RallyNews

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd