Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Top Part Sligo
SEan Gallagher Cars
Patterson Pacenotes
Sligo Stages Rally 2013
RALLY NEWS No.6 - On the road..after S6 - Sunday @ 19:12:17

RallyNews No.6 On the road….. Sunday 18.30

Rally stopped after stage 6 to prevent damage to the roads as tar started to melt. Cars routed from Manorhamilton back to Sligo.

Sligo Park Hotel Sligo Stages Top Ten
1st (2) Declan & Brian Boyle (Impreza WRC) 50.21.3
2nd (3) Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC) 51.27.1
3rd (8) Sam Moffett/James O`Reilly (Lancer N) 52.40.9
4th (9) Josh Moffett/Jason McKenna (Lancer N) 52.58.1
5th (15) Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne (Escort) 54.02.1
6th (33) Ian Gunning/Fred Holmes (Escort) 54.33.3
7th (123) Raymond Conlon/Sarah Whelan (Corolla) 54.42.7
8th (27) David Leonard/Darragh Mullen (Lancer) 54.56.1
9th (29) Enda Haran/Patrick Corcoran (Escort) 54.56.2
10th (56) Dermot O`Hagan/Pierce Doheny Jnr (Corsa) 55.41.1

Class Winners – CL1 Francie McKenna/Shean Craig (Rover MG ZR): CL2 Aidan Wray/Kieran McGrath (Civic): CL3 Wesley Roberts/Tony O`Brien (Civic): CL4 Sam Moffett/James O`Reilly (Lancer N): CL8 Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle (Impreza WRC): CL9 Damian O`Reilly/Damien McCabe (Escort): CL10 Gary Kiernan/Niall Tierney (Escort): CL11R Paul Carron/Andrew Browne (Corolla): CL12 Enda Haran/Patrick Corcoran (Escort): CL13 Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne (Escort): CL14 Sean McHugh/Liam Healy (BMW M3 Compact): CL15 Gavin Gallagher/Fintan Monaghan (Lancer): CL20 David Leonard/Darragh Mullen (Lancer): CL16 Kevin Eves/Adrian Reynolds (Corolla): CL18 Stanley Orr/Brian Cairns (Mk1 Escort).

Declan Boyle and his co-driver Brian Boyle not only stayed on top of some difficult conditions today to take victory, they also increase their lead in the Dunlop National Championship, with just 3 rounds remaining. Indeed it is difficult to see any driver now challenging for the title. Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry`s 2nd place today in a similar Subaru certainly moves them up the points ladder, but the title looks now to be almost beyond their own grasp. Sam Moffett/James O`Reilly turned in a masterful display to take 3rd overall and win GpN in their Lancer from Josh Moffett/Jason McKenna in a similar Mitsubishi. Sean Gallagher, co-driven by his daughter Claire, was 3rd in the GpN category and 13th o/a. Best two wheel drive went to Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne, their class 13 Escort finishing 5th. After some road penalties were removed, Ian Gunning/Fred Holmes finished a very creditable 6th and 2nd in class 13.

Finally for now, very well done to Robert Lyttle and his Connacht MC team for all their efforts on putting together such a good rally. It was just a pity that the brilliant weather had such a downside as melting the tar on the road, but really the only sensible course of action that Robert and his team could have taken was to abandon the 3rd loop of three stages. Certainly any of the drivers that we talked to considered it the wisest and best course of action.
We would also like to thank all who helped and supported our RallyNews today, particularly Dougie and Art and Aidan.

BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd