Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Patterson Pacenotes
McKelvey Bushwhacker Rally
RALLY NEWS No.5 - Finish - Saturday @ 18:04:09
RALLY NEWS NO.5 Finish/Omagh/Saturday

1st (1) Derek McGarrity/James McKee (Impreza WRC) 34.33
2nd (8) Martin Cairns/Kevin Flanagan (Impreza WRC) 34.46
3rd (2) Kenny McKinstry/Noel Orr (Impreza WRC) 35.00
4th (5) Colin Britton/Arthur Kierans (Lancer N) 35.09
5th (6) Mark Donnelly/Sean Ferris (Lancer) 35.14
6th (17) Frank Kelly/Liam Brennan (Escort) 35.36
7th (10) Derek McGeehan/Damien Connolly (Mini WRC) 35.38
8th (7) Stephen Wright/Suzanne Wright (Lancer) 35.50
9th (16) Vivian & Paul Hamill (Escort) 35.52
10th (4) Vincent & JP McAree (Lancer N) 35.54
11th Ian Cochrane 12th Adrian Hetherington 13th Liam Regan

There was drama right to the last yard of the last stage of this Bushwhacker Rally with Derek McGarrity putting in a huge charge to take victory. On the start line of that final stage there was another drama. Garry Jennings/Rory Kennedy were all ready to go with at least a 3rd place on the rally and the Valvoline Irish Forestry Championship title within Garry’s grasp when his Subaru expired in a cloud of steam and smoke.

There were no such worries for McGarrity. He started the final loop of 2 stages 3s behind Martin Cairns and emerged 13s in front. At the Silverbirches Hotel champagne spraying finish ceremony Derek said. “We had a real good run on the last stage especially down the narrow stuff. Anywhere where I saw a cut I lifted it up a gear. The car was brilliant”. Martin Cairns commented. “To be fair, Derek had some time on that final stage. We made a wee mistake on the penultimate stage but not on the last one. Derek drove well to get that jump on us at the end. It was a good day. Not many years ago I could only have thought that I could have had a race again Kenny McKinstry and he has finished 3rd today”.

Frank Kelly and his Cork co-driver Liam Brennan were best of the 2 wheel drive crews today. Frank said at the finish that his Escort performed brilliantly as did his tyres and in overall terms he was absolutely delighted. Colin Britton/Arthur Kierans finished best Group N crew in their Lancer. Martin Cairns took top points in the Valvoline Forest series and Colin takes 2nd placed points that puts him in a very strong position going into the final round in Co. Antrim. The Championship will be decided between Jennings and Britton.

In the Carryduff Forklift sponsored NI Championship Derek McGarrity’s win today clinches the title with Derek McGeehan runner up. Trevor Ferguson has already won the Group N title and following a slow start he finished 21st today.

Finally for now, well done to CoC Ronnie McAleer and all the hard working Omagh MC team for a really good rally here in Co. Tyrone.

More news later: BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net *Follow RallyNews on Twitter @Pacenotes or @ Real_RallyNews

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd