Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
Cash Convertors
Pedro Pet Foods
Patterson Pacenotes
The Ulster Rally
RALLY NEWS No.10 - Finish - Saturday @ 17:09:46

RALLY NEWS NO.10 Antrim Service Saturday

1st (W3) Darren Gass/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC)
2nd (W2) Garry Jennings/Rory Kennedy (Impreza WRC)
3rd (W4) Daragh O’Riordan/Tony McDaid (Impreza WRC)
4th (W10) Robert Barrable/Paddy Robinson (Fabia S2000)
5th (W5) Steve Perez/Paul Spooner (Focus WRC)
6th (W6) Sam Moffett/James O’Reilly (Lancer N)
1st (R1) Keith Cronin/Marshall Clarke (DS3 R3)
2nd (R4) Elfyn Evans/Phil Pugh (Fiesta)
3rd (R10) Osian Pryce/Iestyn Williams (DS3 R3)
4th (R2) Tom Cave/Craig Parry (DS3 R3)
5th (R9) Jonny Greer/Gordon Noble (DS3 R3)
6th (R7) Tommy Doyle/Liam Moynihan (DS3 R3)
7th (R14) Matthew Cathcart/James Morgan (Fiesta)
8th (R16) Callum Black/Paul Wakely (DS3 R3)
9th (R20) David Carney/Ray Fitzpatrick (C2R2)
10th (R19) Kevin O’Connor/Ger Conway (CwR2)

Darren Gass and his co-driver Enda Sherry have scored a really well deserved win here on this Ulster Rally. Their victory extends their lead in the Tarmac Championship over Garry Jennings. Sam Moffett did enough today to take Group N victory and move into the Production lead on the Tarmac series. Over the final two stages there were no major dramas. Robert Barrable was fastest on the final stage and finished just 2s behind Daragh O’Riordan in the race for the final podium place. In Rally NI Keith Cronin’s start to finish victory in his Citroen DS3 R3, co-driven by Marshall Clarke, moves former British Rally Champion Keith to the top of the points of the British series points table. Second in the points now will be Elfyn Evans who earned many plaudits this weekend for some fabulous stage times in his Fiesta R2.

Last minute dramas on Rally NI included Mark Donnelly losing a lot of time when his Clio overheated. Adrian McElhinney the Irish Citroen Racing Trophy but a penultimate stage puncture catapulted David Carney into the Citroen top spot. Tom Cave had some throttle body problem with his Citroen DS3 R3 and they received some penalties for leaving service late. Guy Wilks’ Twingo ran over a rock on stage 13, Lisnamuck, and may have some damage underneath the car. The latest news on Guy is that an oil leak at the back of the engine has caused a small fire and he has retired at the start of SS14. Tommy Doyle, having set 2nd fastest time in stage 11, may have lost some time in stage 13 when his Citroen also clipped a rock.

In the National Rally Frank Kelly scored a brilliant win from the similar Escort of Camillus Bradley. Derek McGeehan in the Mini WRC was 3rd. Less than 9s covered the top 3. Pat Kirk was 4th and won GpN. Alistair Cochrane was 5th, Drew Stewart 6th, Fintan McGrady 7th. Ian Millar took 8th in his Subaru. David Armstrong was 9th and Paddy McVeigh 10th and 2nd GpN.

In the Historic Rally Julian Reynolds put on a late surge to win by 3s from Tomas Davies with Ernie Graham, also in an Escort 3rd. Rob Smith was 4th in his Chevette, Will Onions 5th in his Escort and Keith McIvor 4th in his Porsche. Dessie Nutt was first in the B5 category in his Porsche 911.

Finally for now well done to CoC Lewis Boyd and all the team for their friendly and efficient organisation of this complicated rally. Many thanks to everyone who helped and supported our RallyNews service.

BRIAN & LIZ & MICHAEL PATTERSON www.rallynews.net (with thanks to Christel Patterson & Ciara Conlan and also Dougie Hughes.


2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd