Home Rally News Irish Notes Calendar Videos &
Pacenote News
Blog Patterson PaceNotes Coralba Links
CRT IRL 2010
Patterson Pacenotes
Cork 20 International Rally
RALLY NEWS No.7 - Macroom service - Sunday @ 15:01:42
RALLY NEWS NO.7 Macroom Service/Sunday 3pm
1st (3) Darragh O'Riordan/Tony McDaid (Impreza WRC))
2nd (1) Tim McNulty/Paul Kiely (Impreza WRC)
3rd (5) Garry Jennings/Liam Moynihan (Lancer N)
4th (2) Kevin Barrett/Sean Mullally (Impreza WRC)
5th (7) Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy (Lancer N)
6th (10) Willie Mavitty/John Rowan (Lancer N)
7th (68) Eugene Meegan/Brian Sharkey (Lancer N)
8th (28) David Carney/Ray Fitzpatrick (Citroen C2R2)
9th (12) Brian O'Keefe/Donnacha O'Callaghan (Impreza N)
10th (26) Joe McGonigle/Aidan Friel (Citroen C2R2)
1st (30) Jason Ryan/Tadgh O’Sullivan (Civic)
2nd (15) David Armstrong/Damien Fleming (Escort)
3rd (25) Alan Treacy/Bob Fitzgerald (Corolla)
4th (24) Charlie & Johnny Hickey (Escort)
5th (42) James & Eoin Fitzgerald (Civic)
6th (51) Ian Chadwick/Stephen Quinn (Peugeot 106)

Tim McNulty was fastest through stage 12 the tight and twisty Kilnamatra stage by 6s from Darragh O’Riordan but in overall terms O’Riordan has a 38s advantage with 2 stages to go. O’Riordan was fastest through stage 11 by 4s from McNulty but in stage 12 O’Riordan stalled his Subaru at a hairpin. McNulty is driving at his own pace now, 2nd place good enough to net him the overall Tarmac Championship title.

In much the same mould Garry Jennings told us that he is now driving steady, concentrating on getting the Lancer to the finish and being careful on the foggy and slippy sections. Alan Ring is 2nd in GpN and although he enjoyed the Kilnamatra stage his times are still a little shy of Jennings’. Kevin Barrett reports no problems with his Subaru and he set a good time through SS12 but can do little to improve his position now., David Carney continues to lead the Citroen Racing Trophy contenders. Joe McGonigle has now moved into 2nd place in the Citroens and the Donegal man is 21s ahead of 3rd placed Peter Barrable.

In the National Rally Jason Ryan set a scorcher of a time through stage 12, 27s faster than his closest rival David Armstrong. Ryan did damage the exhaust of his Civic over some jumps but that should be easily repaired here at service. Armstrong found his Escort losing traction and getting very sideways through the myriad square lefts and rights towards the finish of that stage 12. Alan Treacy and Charlie Hickey in 3rd and 4th in the National Rally report no problems.

The Historic Rally has now finished and Denis Moynihan and his co driver Ger Conway have taken a most conclusive victory, over 11 minutes ahead of 2nd placed Alan Courtney/Paul Soutar. Denis reported that he had no problems at all with the car and really enjoyed the event. Courtney’s Porsche had a very soft brake pedal throughout which did not inspire confidence in the fog. Thomas & Colin O’Brien were 3rd in their Mini.
The World Rally Championship Rally France Alsace was won by Ogier in his Citroen by just over 6s from Dani Sordo in the works Mini. Petter Solberg & Chris Patterson were 3rd in the privateer Citroen. Latvala incurred 2m road penalties that allowed his Ford team mate Hirvonen into 4th place. Latvala won the Power Stage.
More news later: BRIAN & LIZ PATTERSON www.rallynews.net

2020 Patterson Agencies

Web Counter

Follow us on Twitter

Tweet this page.

The independent on event rally news service.
All rights reserved. Unauthorised duplication is a violation of applicable laws.
designed by Patterson Agency Ltd